There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

15/01/2004 - 9:00 p.m.

There's no times at all, just the New York Times

My roommate never did put in an appearance. Now I almost feel bad that I never got to meet her and formed all kinds of judgements about her... But I still have my room all to myself, which is supremely better. How lucky is that: a double room as a single and never a small fortune to pay for it because my roommates never come through. Part of the problem is simply that everybody else on this campus calls up their best friend and lives with them forever. How pathetic. I'm extremely glad that I'm not surrounded by a bunch of my friends from high school- not because I don't like them, but because that would be so limiting to me. Of course, that's mostly to do with my major and the necessity of knowing people.

I got a brand new job. I'm working in the theatre's Box Office. My job is to sell tickets and answer the phones and do paperwork and data entry and stuff, but out of the three days I've worked there, I've mostly done nothing. Of course, single tickets don't go on sale for the shows until the first of February, so who knows. Maybe I'll know my job a little better by then too...

Classes are pretty good. Well, half good. My Practicum class hasn't started yet, but that one ought to be OK. Playwrighting looks as though it's just going to be fun and wonderful and stuff. Stagecraft is with Mark for the scenic half and then with Linda for the costume half, which is fantastic. It's a class that's basically full of recent Fundies kids, and me, and Mark and Linda both know me fairly well. It won't be easy, because it is a pretty work related class and I have to do a lot of stuff in a fairly timely manner, but it's not going to be the disgustingly mundane that the last semester class seems to have been (at least in the scenic half).

And then we have Theatre History II and Vocal Production. Everybody else seems to think that Theatre History is going to be so much nicer this semester because they won't have to read very many plays, and it's just endless Leonard explaining slide shows and Power Points to us, and that's so easy. So easy I want to die. I suppose as long as I show up every day and do a fairly good job on my reasearch paper (which is looking as though it might be something to do with Chekov and Stanislavski), things should work out just fine, but I won't like it. Vocal Production is personally kicking my ass because it's stuff that is difficult for me. It's a very physically orienated class, and I'm having to buy some Zen pillow thing and a Yoga mat. I am not looking forward to whatever it is we'll be doing with those. It's not been friendly for me up to this point.

I'm terrified to learn what the hell Movement is going to be like, and I'm trying to devise a way out of it. The words "unitard" have been uttered in regards to that class. I'm sorry, I will change my major before I wear spandex clothes to a class. I won't even wear spandex in the privacy of my own room. However, no use getting worked up about that yet, I have this class to get through first. And I sincerely hope that I do.

In less than a month I will be 20. I will be old. I know, I know, there are all kinds of people older than me, but, still, 20. That doesn't end in "teen". It's been the last seven years of my life that my age has ended thusly. I can't stop now, can I? Apparently, it can. No stopping the inevitable.

I realised the other day that when Nathan and I graduate next year, he'll be 25. And that weirds me out a little. He'll definately be a grown up then. I'll be 21, so I still won't be looking at myself like a grown up (you know, the way everybody else has since they turned 14...). But I'll have graduated college.

So, then what? What happens after that? I don't know yet.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland