There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

18/01/2003 - 1:42 p.m.

This town's all right.

Now that you've read the No Shame piece, you're all dying to find out how it went, right? It's been judged by just about everybody as the best piece I've done, which I really almost don't believe. Reviews have yet to have come up on the website, but there'll probably be some more up later.

At five fifteen last night the moon was gorgeous. It was a great clear silver orb in the sky, crystalline. I was instantly reminded of the story of the Owl Moon when the little girl and her father walk through the snow on a moonlit night looking for owls. So I knew it was going to snow.

It started snowing at about two o clock this morning, and when Mary and I left the Icehouse at two thirty it was beginning to snow like it does in the movies. Great big snowflakes. Now it's almost all melted, which is sucky, but it was gorgeous last night.

There's nothing much to say about the party really. I expect with ACTF next week there'll be a lot more going on- no one has any classes to go to and most people aren't doing much anyway.

Speaking of ACTF, there's to be a special No Shame that week for old submissions. I'm trying to pick something out, so if anybody reading has had a favourite No Shame piece, let me know. I'll tally the votes and then probably pick a different one.

I have a bruise on my arm. It looks kind of like an overripe banana. I don't know how it got there, I can't remember doing anything in the shop that would've rendered it. I know I didn't get it last night. Hmmm.

Television never ceases to bewilder me. Richard Roxburgh is going to play Sherlock Holmes in Hound of the Baskervilles. The Duke is not Sherlock Holmes. It's as simple as that. I've not seen a good Sherlock Holmes to be perfectly honest, Jeremy Brett is tolerable, but I've always thought he would make a better Mycroft. I get the feeling that Michael Caine could probably do it because of his treatment of Scrooge in Muppet Christmas Carol, he took a role that has become largely a parody and played it like a human being. Sherlock Holmes has become the same thing- a pipe smoker in a long coat and deerstalker cap who instantly knows everything. An actor needs to play the character, not a parody of the character.

I also think that Friends should be renamed Orgy. Tell it like it is.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland