There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

15/10/2001 - 12:46 a.m.

Part 4

"You're kind of a bitch, you know that?" Evan replied.

"Yeah, I do," Lisa said. "So I'm not offended the way you hoped I would be."

She picked up her library card, turned, and stormed out of the building. She really amazed herself sometimes that she could lie that well. Yes, it was definately October.

CHAPTER TWO

Michael looked from his computer screen out of the apartment window to the ground below. A beautiful woman was getting off the bus. At least, he hoped she was beautiful. She was tall, her hair was long and dark, and he hoped her eyes were as dark as her hair, but couldn't be sure from the angle he viewed her from. The hand closest to him was sunk into the pocket of her leather coat, the other grasped something he could not see as she walked quickly past him. Too quickly.

"What are you looking at?" asked Jeff.

"You'll hate me," he replied.

"Some busty blonde that's just disappeared from view I'll bet," he said. "I'm jealous."

"Yeah, you'll hate me. She was dark haired and I completely failed to notice her chest."

"You're kidding. Are you sure you're a real man?"

"There's more to a girl than her cleavage," Michael replied.

"From this angle? I don't think so," Jeff replied, glancing out the window. "There've been some doozies out this window."

Michael sighed, "Well, I guess if you're going to be one track all your life..."

"Damn straight. Listen Mike, are you about done with that thing?" he motioned to the computer.

"Novels don't just get done," he replied.

"Well, no, not if you keep getting distracted by chestless chicks."

"I never said she was chestless."

"Must've been if you didn't notice it. Anyhow, are you?"

He glanced at the last few sentances. They were pretty horrible. "Probably for today. Why?"

"What are you doing about dinner tonight?"

"Dinner?"

"Yeah, it's five thirty. You going out, staying in, what?"

Michael hadn't thought about it, and told Jeff so. He glanced at the computer screen and out the window. Things were going considerably nicer outside than on the screen. He knew if he stayed in he'd end up writing more garbage than eating.

"I think I'm going out," he said finally.

"Alone?"

"Does it look like I've got anyone to go out with?"

"How the hell should I know? But listen, I think I'm bringing Shelly back tonight and..."

"I get the picture. Yeah, I'll make myself scarce."

"Great Mike, that's great. I'll see you around."

"Yeah." He typed until he heard the door close, and shut down the whole program without saving. He hadn't made any headway at all. He glanced out the window again and felt the hydra the was his conscience rear up in the back of his mind.

Go! She's probably not worth it anyway. Michael, you do not just walk up to some woman that you saw out the window. You ought to work on the book. Mike, if you leave this room with the tiniest thought of looking for her, you deserve to be shot. Hmmm, I feel like Chinese tonight. What are the chances of finding her anyway, it can't hurt?

Where the hell was Hercules when you needed him?

Go to Part 5

Go to Part 3

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland