There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

17/11/2001 - 10:52 a.m.

Phillipadelphia (you'd think it was funny if you were me)

Elena asked me if I wanted to go to the opening of Harry Potter yesterday. I really really really wish I could've said yes, because I would like to see that movie sometime.

I'm never sure what I think of Harry Potter, sometimes I go, yeah, I like that, and sometimes I say, if I were seven I'd love that, and sometimes I say, she's not really all that original, she just took a bunch of ideas from science fiction and other children's stories and mashed them together. Today I think, well, she did a pretty good job mashing them together, it's not painful to read, and as far as children's exposure to stuf that they OUGHT to read before they die (Adams, Tolkien, etc.), it's a very good opener, the opposite of Goosebumps.

Anyway, much as I would've LOVED to go, I couldn't. I'd already asked if I could go help with the Thespians doing face painting at the Roosevelt Boosters pancake supper (mostly because it's expected of me as an officer to go), but I was told I had to stay home because I haven't been home forever and whatnot. So obviously, hanging around in line with a bunch of Harry Potter fans and good friends for several hours was pas question.

What was all of this family time? Well, my brother and father left at six to take my brother to a BS campout in Boone, and as there was nothing good on television my mother turned on the news, I started to fall asleep, because really, I'm so disgusted with the news it's not even worth getting angry over it anymore. So, she woke me up and whined about it for a while, and I ended up going upstairs and falling asleep. Six thirty. I woke up at 11:30, and again at 9 this morning. So much for that. Of course, usually it's her that falls asleep, except that she won't leave. She snores too, so whatever you're watching is interuppted by loud snores and then gasps of fright when she wakes herself up. That's how I love to spend my evenings.

I'm actually waiting for the whole family to disappear for a while so I can watch "Transpotting". I'm rather excited, I found it at the last Best Buy in the universe (the one on the West Side by Borders), but I'm a little hesitant at watching R rated movies with other people in the room. My mother giggles at "Nature" if the animals go to the bathroom, or have sex or give birth or eat another animal. She's WORSE when it's humans (although we tend not to eat each other in movies). Anyway, I've never seen it, but it's Ewan McGregor, who doesn't act in things that are complete shit (the man doesn't believe in Hollywood), and it's from this book that sounds like it's really good, and Angel told me I ought to see it, so I really want to watch it before Monday.

It's kinda scary, VHS videos prices are going back up again. For a while a VHS would cost you four bucks. Now, you walk into a store, and it's full of DVD's, and the videos cost like, 12 bucks. I'm so afraid. All I want for Christmas is videos. Now, some people say, "Why not a DVD player?" Well, frankly, I like videos. And, when you can get them for cheaper, I see no reason not to continue buying them. I'll try to stay with video until they stop releasing them as video. If Moulin Rouge only comes out on DVD (Dec. 19th, three days after Fellowship of the Rings opens), I will sincerely be pissed.

I guess it's because it's a reminder that I'm getting old. I mean, people talk about the flood as a thing that happened a long time ago (the Iowa flood, not the biblical one), and really, that's only seven years ago, and I'm 17. The greater part of my life happened before the flood. I can't be old yet. I can't be almost 18 (four months away).

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland