There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

02/03/2002 - 12:04 p.m.

Theatre kings on silver wings fly beyond reason

Well, I am return�d. Much has been done and said and experienced, so this is going to be a longish one.

First of all, it's snowing. It started yesterday in Cedar Falls at about 1:30 and has not yet quit, but the snowplows have been out since then too, so I'm sure they won't cancel school unless it gets cold and the deisel starts gelling in the buses. (Please, please, please, it was all of 17� at UNI yesterday!)

So, yes, Thursday doesn't count for much. A little over two hours in a car with family (Well, parents, they let brother stay home. I'm bitter, they wouldn't have let me do that) and then more time driving around looking for some random cabin that my mother's family used to own, but she couldn't remember the address or how to get there, and when we did finally find a street that my mother seemed to remember, it was only a block long. I have to say, in 20-some years, do you really think that the place hasn't changed??? So, that was basically Thursday.

Friday, like I mentioned, was cold. Wind chills of -3�. It was fabulous, my mother was whingeing, and my father kept trying to shut her up. I could've cared less. So we have the tour, and the girls doing the tour are really sort of talking to each other more than to us. I'm not a big fan of tours anyway, you never find out anything you might actually care about.

They showed us the "model dorm room" on a floor filled with little girly pictures and posters on the doors, and everybody has a title "CD Rep" or "Movie Rep" or "Poster Rep", which about made me want to puke then and there. I mean, where's the dorm for the anti-social people? I'm not goth by any standards, but I'm just not chipper and excited about being a member of a group. I enjoy the company of others, but not when it involves me doing a little bit of conforming to accept cutsie duckies, pink and yellow, adorable sweaters, and make-up, which this particular floor screamed of. According to our tour guides, guys don't do that sort of thing. Maybe I could move in with them? Well, I suppose it's not really like that, they just say that it is, or something. Or maybe it's just that particular floor. I'll stick with my dark blues and greens, stars and books thank you.

Actually, that was the only thing I was really worried about, other people. Living with other people.

Of course, using the past tense, that's proof that there's now something else. Yup, I didn't know Jess had cahnged his major. That's what everybody wanted him to do, granted, but I didn't know he'd actually gone and done it. I was waiting to do my interview ('cause it wasn't acting, just technical, so I didn't have to do much in the way of presentation) and he comes in to talk to this girl that's just sort of in there (it was their green room, so she probably had a purpose, but I didn't know what it was). That was kind of, er, a shock. I figured I could handle Shiloh, but I don't know whether I can do both of them. It's a case of, I don't know either of you very well, but I admire you (even though I probably shouldn't) and I had that whole hero worship problem, well, it just wasn't good.

Anyway, that's completely neurotic and I hope I'm just being stupid. The actual "audition" wasn't bad. I was being funny, I hope that's a good thing. I've done a lot of stuff with theatre, and one of the things they said was about wanting "well rounded" students. So, hey, maybe they'll give me money.

I'm already admitted. Got the letter on Thursday and my brother opened it when my mother called him to see whether he was alive or not. So, I will definately be in Cedar Falls next year.

I have loads to do. I have a load of Chemistry, an English paper (due Tuesday), and mail to get off (but it doesn't look like I'll make it to the post office, so...). Well, I'll probably put it all off for a while. Sounds like me.

Found out good news from Stimpy, very very happy. Stimp also says that I'll probably be up in Carpenter, so that'll be nice, or scary, one or the other. Let's hope for nifty people up at Shoshone.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland