There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

13/04/2002 - 8:01 p.m.

I carry my adornments on my soul.

I read Cyrano de Bergerac yesterday.

Oh, wow.

I'd seen the French version of it, with what's-his-face Dapardieu (although I'm sure I've spelled that wrong), and now I've finally got a copy of the script. It's got everything- sword fights, poetry (the two together, in fact), romance, tragedy, comedy, war, history (it was performed first in 1897, but set in 1640), and it's originally French. Act Three is my favourite.

Love, I love beyond
Breath, beyond reason, beyond love's own power
Of loving! Your name is like a golden bell
Hung in my heart;

Yes, that is Love- that wind
Of terrible and jealous beauty, blowing
Over me- that dark fire, that music...

There is no more to say: only believe
That unto you my whole heart gives one cry,
And writing, writes down more than you receive;
Sending you kisses through my finger-tips-
Lady, O read my letter with your lips!

(That's three seperate excerpts, for anyone wondering why the poetry doesn't work.)

Now, I admit, I'm a great big romantic sap, but I think it's lovely. There's a lot more I've toyed with saying, but I think much of it could be better employed elsewhere.

Right, let's see, it was Solo and Ensemble Festival today (Iowa High School Musica Association, but it never gets called that). It was fun, I think we did well, but I won't give out an official rating until I see the ballot. Mostly because I'm not sure what the judge was, er, judging. Besides, these are number ballots rather than a subjective comment ballot.

I believe Andy got best of centre. Go Andy. Do we not tell the boy he's fantastic? I'd be interested to know how Jimmy did.

Last night I dreampt that I was in London, but it looked like Kingman Blvd. and I was driving to Chicago. Yes, I don't know where my head is sometimes.

I had a whole list of things I was going to write about, but I can't remember any of the rest of them. I hate that.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland