There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

03/12/2001 - 6:19 p.m.

Epochs

It seems like it's been an eternity since I was here. The connection was down from Saturday morning until a couple of hours ago, and things are progressing in my life, so I feel like I've missed a lot more than I actually have.

Stimpy called Saturday night. We both agree that there is very little closure, and that we want to get on a plane and fly to England just to prove to ourselves that something has happened. We're the only ones we know who see this as a big important event that should be recognised. When they're your relations or close friends, you get the day off; when they're nationally important, you practically get the day off because of "class discussion"; that didn't qualify as earth shattering news to very many people??? Anyway, I'm working getting over that.

I finally got Christmas presents for everybody and their dog. Brandy to Becca and everybody in between (not alphabetically, order in which I met them). If they didn't get an actual tangible thing, they get a card. You wouldn't believe the price of stamps!

Camp Reunion is the 23rd in Boone, I'm going (probably) with Squirt and Stimpy, and us and Pixie are probably going to see a dollar movie in Ames afterwards, so that's all good. (I'm assuming it'll be something a month old, so Harry Potter or Monsters INC, I guess.)

We have 95 days left of school- not counting finals, weekends, vacations- so actual days that we sit in the building for at least six periods (I do count early outs) = 95. This was the 65th day of school. Not yet half way, urgh. I guess that finals week will be halfway. Which is in January, they let us out for 15 days and then expect us to come back and know everything from the entire beginning of the year? We don't retain over the weekends- ask any teacher who's given a Monday test.

I admit, I know I'm a lot harder on Jimmy than I need to be, a whole lot of people think he's funny, and every now and then he does do something to remind you of fifth grade Jimmy. Anyway, the point of all this musing is that I have to come up with something for the boy because he's my Holiday Secret Thespian-y thing (you can't come up with a seasonal phrase that pleases everybody), one of the nonperks of being an officer, you see the list of who has who. But, it gives me time to work out what he might like, because I hate to buy people stupid stuff. Well, if anybody has any ideas for a drama-y, sports-y guy... that's under $10.

Speaking of all this, I've got Christmas presents to wrap.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland