There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

12/12/2001 - 5:56 p.m.

Raunchy

The title doesn't make sense, I admit that. However, it makes such a wonderful sound... if you sound like Sir Paul McCartney (or would that be James, or would they use his full name, or what?). Anyway...

Mr. Dingo adored the Hammy paper. Funny how the ones I just try to make slightly facetious, to see how far I can push things, do the best. The ones that are supposed to be ligitmate, he doesn't give a shit about. It's not even because he enjoys the points I'm trying to make, either (because for all his allegory and metephors, he's missing out on mine). Ah well. Today was the day I was going to finally put aforementioned Grendel Chapter up, but I can't find the disk and can't be bothered to look.

Abby and I have finally found a scene. It's called Poof!, not Proof, which was the reason I flipped to it in the first place- the rights aren't even out yet, what was it doing in this scene book? Anyway, it's about these two kinda sorta white trash battered wives and Loureen (Abby), has just had her husband spontaneously combust in front of her. So, she calls Florence (me) and we discuss what to do with him. In the end, we sweep him up and throw him away, and move on.

It's funny, yet it's about something, so we cut all the slightly untasteful things out of it (You swear on your right tit? I swear on both of them!) so that the prudy little biddies who generally judge these things won't get offended. It drives me up the wall when we have to cut things so that people won't make a fuss. It's not like WE wrote it, and besides, can't you see that that's who these people are? We can't all be bloody Sister Wendy, who wouldn't snigger at a gigantic naked statue even if it fell over on her. This is expecially perplexing when it's not even tastelessness just to be gross. Why are some people so prudish that the very HINT of a "dirty word" makes them positively lividly against you? We are, however, leaving in the "You on crack?" lines, because the story simply does not progress without them, and Sarah Helt's sperm monolouge was much worse than that. I don't see the problem.

It takes a good deal for me to think that something's a little distasteful: authors who graphically write their own sex lives into their work, people who are being stupid for the sake of being funny. Jim Carrey, as well as most of the movies made for teenagers spring to mind- there's a difference between There's Something About Mary humour and Monty Python humour or American Pie humour. There's a slim line, and American Pie crosses it; yes, it's funny, but simply because it's so gross. Something About Mary manages to be a pretty funny movie even if they show it on FOX and cut all the truly dirty stuff out- the other wouldn't work. Most other things simply disgust me. Except people who make jokes they don't understand, and then they laugh, but they don't know why it's funny.

Speaking of that, I heard the funniest joke, I'm sorry anyone from Mississippi, but I have to.

What do you call a virgin in Mississippi? A girl who can run faster than her brother.

Candy canes are lethal weapons. I had one for breakfast (yeah, yeah, don't give me shit, I know, but frankly, I don't want to get up at 5:30 just so that I can eat food in the morning), and, maybe because I was tired, I nearly poked my eye out, and slit the inside of my mouth about four or five times. Still hurts a little, but then, I probably ought to leave 'em alone.

Every single person in the universe was off playing with HOPE, good for them, but, urgh, it was a pretty un-entertaining day. (For all I rarely see them.)

This whole pick a college or die thing is really pissing the hell out of me. I can't make up my mind- I mean, I don't want to go to UNI and continue a theatre experience in the wake of Jess and Shiloh, I'm not up to doing that. However, I'm not going to take a year off, because I'm out of the house when school's out- that's how it works. So, fend formyself on my own, or at college? Er, yeah, the choice is obvious. I also don't really want to go to DePaul, despite how good it looks- a little whingy voice is moaning in my head, I love that. Anyway, I'm out of Iowa colleges, and the Minnesota schools don't seem all that exciting either, and I don't want to go East because that's just too different, but I will not go South or West. Will not happen. However, most places want things before Christmas. It's the tenth, crap, twelfth, and well, transcripts are difficult to come by (and a counselor who would say redeeming things about me even moreso, and references are getting close, and, well, Aries Rising Record Group!). Suggestions for a place with a good theatre program (that isn't just a choice between acting, directing, or crews) please, pour in mail to me telling me how great your school is!

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland