There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

30/03/2002 - 3:54 p.m.

Peter Rabbit is established from the start as a benevolent character...

This morning on the way to rehearsal (which started at eight, so yes, it was seriously morning), we were driving up Grand (I checked on the way back home) and passed St. Augustines, the Catholic church (obviously). Now, Plymouth Church is on the Ingersoll side of the block and they're Puritans. Well, whatever the brand new form of Puritans is, hmmm, they call themselves a Congregational and United Church of Christ (whatever). Personally, I see that as a Crusade waiting to happen.

That's not the point of the story. That's an extra.

The point of the story was that in the middle of the road right beside St. Augustines was the body of a little rabbit, although caracass is probably more correct. He hadn't been there long either. It was seven twenty at this point in time and he wasn't even to the side of the road, he was in the very middle.

My questions are:
1) What are little kids attending Catholic church services going to think at seeing the Easter Bunny's carcass in the street?
2) How could somebody do that?

The number one question I leave to the grown-ups. The number two question I can't do that with; it was a grown up that did it (we all know that kids can't drive). I try making excuses, they didn't see him. Well, if it was that dark, you use headlights, and if it was light (the way it is in March around here) then maybe they tried to swerve. There were no skid marks, and the little guy was badly torn open. I can't find any more excuses.

How could you do that and not stop? I'd think there to be no possible way to be oblivious to the fact that you'd run over something. How could you not stop? Early morning traffic, because it wasn't a rush hour last night job, isn't so heavy there that stopping would have been out of the question. And people shouldn't hold stopping to take care of a murder against you.

It is murder. The animal is alive and you killed it- that's what murder is. I have a slight issue with murder, if you're going to do it, take responsibility for it. I haven't killed anybody because I couldn't deal with the consequences. However, those who do should realise that there is no way around the consequences (you'll notice I'm not saying whether I'm in favour of current consequences trends, I just think that those who do murder should realise that bad things will happen to them).

So, you ask, what are the consequences for road-kill? Stop. Do something for them if you can. You'd stop if you hit a little girl on a Barbie bicycle without a helmet (to pick though, I'd stop for the rabbit before the little girl- the rabbit's family won't cover you in lawsuits for their stupidity in letting a kid ride in the middle of the street without a helmet). If it's the end, put them in the car and take them someplace to be buried or decomposed. If you're not necessarily road-kill handler equipped, then at least move them out of the middle of the road.

I don't see it as honouring the animal's death necessarily (you'll all remember that I've made my decisions on death and funerals and tradition and the actual loss of life isn't a traumatic point with me), besides, I'm not interested in bringing up the religious question of animals' souls. I see this largely as the murderer fulfilling the consequences of their actions. It would be my hope that the consequences be kindly done, but sometimes it's a bit much.

I wanted to stop, but my dad wouldn't. He doesn't see it the same way. Funny how he was the guy that taught me not to kill insects and spiders and people.

Of course, an alternative to burial would be road-kill for supper. Whichever your preferance.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland