There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

24/04/2002 - 7:27 p.m.

Full of sound and fury, signifying nothing.

I had several intelligent and witty things to say. What happened? Well, currently, I'm humming a Gaelic song to the tune of Theme for Aragorn and Arwen, because the only word I can make out for the theme is Und�miel. Very difficult language Quenya. However, I do know this whole random Gaelic song- can neither spell the lyrics nor say what the name of the song is, but I know it!

Today was Thespians Watch Moulin Rouge Day. There were, er, let's see, maybe twelve of us. At least it was quiet. Ah well, not that big a deal, and very fun and Moulin Rougey.

If anybody understands the concept of the calendar used in The Shire better than I do, I would be very glad to listen to them. Mostly, I'm trying to work out what day Midsummer's Day is for hobbits. However, I think it changes every year based on the first of the year and the last of the year, which is based on something entirely random? At any rate, I don't know, but I would like to know. Although, I've no idea when Midsummer's Day is for this calendar either.

Tomorrow night is the choir concert, and before then I have a lot of things that need doing. I wonder whether I'll do them, or if I'll just play in Diaryland? Don't answer that.

I had M&M's earlier today. They taste so, so, sharp and awful. There's no mellowness, just painful screams of artificial chocolate flavouring. I don't mean to sound whingey or desperate, but from time to time I do just marvel that the gastronomie students of the country don't start an uproar. Of course, we're all fat because we eat too many chemicals. I swear- they tell us we're all fat, but you have to consider, is it because we eat so much more than everybody else, or is it because everything we eat has practically the same genetic make-up as a Twinkie? I don't care how you squirt it out- a Twinkie and a McDonald's french fry are practically the same thing. They're yellow on the outside and white on the inside, greasy, tastey- yet repuslive, and we're not sure just exactly where they come from.

Yesterday were officer nominations. I feel sorry for Marnie, because she really wanted to be an officer. Yea to Abby and Ren and Maria and Elena. That's cool. Very cool. I hope that Leslie does well as president, but I think that perhaps I don't know Leslie well enough to make any statements one way or the other on that.

Quick note to Patrick, in case he's reading. I have discovered, in my further quest to learn and understand Tengwar quickly and easily (which, I am also discovering, can't be done) I have found a site that translates names- it won't do mine (except that Anna means gift anyway, so technically... but I'd like one I could actually go by) but yours is on there. Anyway but your first name comes from the Latin "Patricius" which means "nobleman", and can be translated into Elvish to read Callo. Your middle name in Hebrew can be rendered "Mi kha-'el", and means "Who [is] like God?" (hey, I didn't make it up, I'm just relaying) which can be translated to Elvish and contracted to make "Manveru". Both your names and none of mine. Guess we know who Tolkien favoured. (OK, so maybe, not so quick- sue me.)

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland