There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

22/03/2002 - 10:55 p.m.

Part 15

CHAPTER FIVE

Michael approached the house and stood deliberating on the doorstep for a few seconds. Finally he rung the bell. She opened the door and he felt his mental jaw drop. In those few seconds he wondered firstly how he ever could have found Paula attractive and secondly how he ever could have found Lisa.

"You look great," he said.

"Don't flatter me," she replied, slipping past him.

He smiled, reminded how he was able to find Lisa, and followed her down the sidewalk to his car. He laughed at how easily he had been intimidated by her last night.

"Against my will I am sent to bid you come in to dinner," Michael began as he started the car.

"If it had been painful, you would not have come," Lisa continued. "Do you know the Shakespeare, or do you just pretend?"

"She speaks yet she says nothing: what of that? Speak the speech, I pray you, as I pronounced it to you, trippingly on the tounge."

"A bird of my tounge is better than a beast of yours."

"I' God's name: I have done."

"So, you do just pretend," Lisa said.

"Ask the average person to pull that much Shakespeare out of their ass. I am a writer, my dear girl, and that's three different plays which have been represented. I might ask you whether you could do as well. You simply stole from Much Ado About Nothing, which I could conjecture to mean that you simply saw the movie."

"And you would be right."

A silence passed over them, but Michael was getting used to silences by this time.

Go to Part 16

Go to Part 14

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland