There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

04/11/2001 - 12:43 a.m.

Nuances of myself

There are so many things I'd like to write right now, but I don't trust myself not to write something I'd regret. I know that, really, anything I'd have to say probably wouldn't matter anyway. This is some more of the hazards to having friends: you get certain expectiations about them, and they hurt you by completely bypassing them.

I have always loved best the things I do the worst at. I love to sing, but I'm too self concious to be any good. I love to act, but I lack the ability. I love art, but I can't draw the things I imagine, only copy the prefabricated images of others (Mr. Disney, for example). However, I am stubborn enough not to give up at these things- now that I know I can't do any of them, I want to do them all the more, to get them out there so that somebody will say "you're not too bad". Maybe it's fishing for compliments, but I would like to hear that I'm good at something I love, and the only way to do that is to make sure everyone has a chance to know what I can do to tell me what they think.

Finding I can't act has made me work all the harder- I know I'll never try for a BFA, but I want to get better, so that maybe someday I'll be good enough to finally be cast in a lead role. I would never be a good enough singer to even consider auditioning for All-State, but Concert and the musical are exceptional opportunities to learn to do better, so that at least if I sit in the back hallway or sneak off to the science wing to hear the echo, I can at least believe that my voice doesn't sound so completely horrible. Is it any surprise then that I cover my notebooks with my own ugly renderings of photos of people I know very well (only to have no one recognise them)? If I stopped doing that, it'd be giving up on myself, and I don't want to do that, because I would like to be at least good enough for me, and right now, I am doing that. I do the things I love to do almost as well as I would like, and am happy with that. It may never get me fame and recognition, but I can deal with that because I at least think I do my best.

But, the things that I'm supposed to be best at are the things I do the worst. People used to tell me that I was a fabulous violinist (back in sixth grade), and that I was just as good as Austin and that I could be better. Well, I screwed that up for myself- I didn't love it, it was just something I did, and so I suddenly got worse and worse. My writing that everyone goes on about- it gets worse and worse as the compliments rise, I don't want this to be the fabulous thing I can do, because it's just something I do. I sense myself ruining the only future I may have, so I try to make myself love it, and sometimes I do, but then I despise it again for reasons I don't understand.

I don't know what point I'm trying to make. I sense that I'm not making any. I'm sure this is a desperate attempt at something, but I don't know what.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland