There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

12/11/2001 - 11:00 p.m.

So sue me, I can't shut up today.

My mood has changed about for the better. I watched Anne of Green Gables and it was much better than I remember it from when I was seven or so. It was on a few weeks ago, and I taped it, and have only just had the time to finish watching it. Anyway, it's just as lovely as the books (though not quite so complete, but not enough as to make me notice the difference or take away from the experience).

On top of that, it's 41 days until Christmas. I've all sorts of wonderful ideas for people, but I have to get some of them mailed, and seeing as I haven't bought them yet, and they'd probably have to go out by the 6th of December... Anyway, I know I'll be spending a fortune on cards this year at least.

I've mentioned what Christmas does to me, so I think I'll just leave it at that. Just picture me starry eyed and mooning over fabulous visions of snow two feet deep reflecting a sparkling full moon silhouetting dark twisted oak trees standing solemn on sparse bare fields. I absolutely LOVE winter here. I spent a week of winter in Florida last year- OK, so it was only a scrubby Marchy type of cold and dreary, but it felt absolutely sacreligious (though that's not at all the right word) to be in 70 degree Florida, missing out on winter. Southerners just don't get it. Actually, people here tell me I love to suffer. I don't see what they mean. It makes spring all the better when it finally arrives. You learn to appreciate seasons. Oh, why bother rationalising, the world ought to be covered in snow from now until March and just love the idea!

So, now that we all know what sort of mood I'm in at this moment, I know a fair amount of you know exactly what I'm thinking about. For those who don't know, hazard a guess, send it in, I'll post the most amusing ones (I'm not kidding).

I really want to have a positive outlook on life. I don't want to go about hating existance and people in general and things, but sometimes, well, er, most times, I can't help it. I try to do these types of lovely mood entries when I get them (as a record that they did occur, you know).

I expect to be getting important mail in the next few days. Excruciating waiting period on all this. I'm owed about three actual letters, er, no, more than that. Five, at least.

It's just started pouring rain. Did I mention I adore rain too? Someday, when I'm being reckless and don't care what happens to me, I'm going to go out and walk through a rainstorm. Get completely and totally soaked, and not care at all. I'd like to take someone with me. So, if someday you should find yourself with me in the middle of a torrent of rain, and I don't suggest going inside as quickly as possible, you're an exceedingly special person.

There are so many things I've been waiting to do. I keep thinking I'd better do them as soon as I get out of my house, but everybody tells me that's too late. But I can't do them now, it simply wouldn't work. So, I'll wait out the rest of the year, get out of here, and do lovely reckless things in the name of love.

Doesn't sound like I bad idea.

I'll try to get myself to shut up for tonight. I don't want to get carried away.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland