There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

27/10/2002 - 8:54 p.m.

Now Yesterday's Gone

Ahhh. It feels so nice to be back. I know, I can hear you all saying "she was gone?" Well, I was damnit!

Friday night after posting my last entry, my computer went all to hell.

I'd been downloading lots of things for The Sims with little regard to whether or not the site was trustworthy with their labeling. I have no expansion packs, and therefore the amount of things I can download is significantly limited. Unfortunately, some people refuse to check to see if their objects will work in everything and put it all up there and say it will.

I found the Motherload of Objects and Skins That Are Not Compatible With An Unexpanded Sims Game. And so anything I tried to do, my game crashed. I knew what the objects were, so I got rid of them, but there was this dress that I couldn't find, because it probably had about twelve files for it and I didn't remember which ones they were because they all mix in together.

So, I downloaded something to look for bad Sims files, and it didn't see anything. It was probably specifically a Livin' Large problem (because it's designed to look for things that don't belong in either Livin' Large or The Sims). Well, I totally revamp everything. Reinstall The Sims so that I lose all my happy families and houses, and discover that no, that didn't empty out those other files. Damn. So, I went to bed.

Well, yesterday morning I thought, hmmm, all I have to do is work out which files came from which places and I can just delete those. (I had it narrowed down to two or three downloads by this time, but I couldn't find them.) Isn't there a sort of thing that will group them all together by where they came from? Yeah! I get on to look for it, and the Internet doesn't come up. I try again. I'm not too panicked, just decided that well, maybe there's something about it being down that I missed.

This afternoon I try to check my e-mail. It's doing precisely what it did the day before. Now I panic. I do everything in my power and am convinced that I'm only making things worse.

I call my dad and ask him what's wrong with it. He takes the situation and asks me if I've tried restarting it. Well, yes, I had. Try it again. So I do, and by magic it works, and I feel terribly stupid.

Tomorrow I need to do my Psychology paper. Read a journal and write down little eentsy stupid details about it. It was assigned on Wednesday, but I figure I've got three hours tomorrow I can do it. Half an hour to read it, and the rest to fill in the stuff and maybe twenty seconds to do the extra credit.

It's been snowing since about three o clock. At four, the snowflakes turned all huge and gorgeous and I had to go outside. I walked around in the snow for about an hour and never saw a single other person. Of course, I was wet and freezing when I got back, but it was well worth it.

I'm feeling much better than I was yesterday or the day before.

Fortune Cookie of the Day: Someone who deserves special attention awaits your magic voice.

This sounds more like I'm being chatted up than given a fortune.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland