There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

12/11/2002 - 9:04 a.m.

Things that go bump in the night

I was sitting in my room last night, waiting for my hair to dry. I'd taken a shower at ten, it was currently midnight- this is typical drying time for my hair. I was playing The Sims and getting ready to go to bed. All at once, there is a knock upon the door. I glance at the clock. It is 12:02. I can hear neither a fire alarm, nor screams. There is no reason on earth for me to open that door, correct? The knock again. I'm not even going over to the door to look. Anybody who thinks that midnight is an appropriate time to be making calls needs their head checked to see if any of their manners are still there. A note is pushed under my door: "SEE ME NOW! TARA"

Am I wrong in seeing this as total imprudence on her part?

I awoke this morning to see she had left another note on my door reading in the same manner. I have written her a lovely letter that says "What the bloody hell were you thinking knocking on my door at midnight? Haven't you the sense or politeness to do such things in broad daylight?" only not in those words. It's much more polite. All about how I do not feel that midnight is an appropriate time to begin making calls, and I do not answer my phone or door after about ten thirty (which is true), and that I am certain she understands why I made my decision not to see her, and that I meant no slight to her.

Which should make her feel absolutely guilty as to her rudeness, but probably won't. I mean seriously, anything that is deadly important at midnight can certainly not be so important that it can't wait. And anyone who feels the need to be so rude at that hour of the night is really not worth my time anyway.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland