There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

22/12/2002 - 2:02 p.m.

Old Christmas Morning

All of the rampant holiday spirit I had two weeks ago has dwindled and died. Today is the 22nd. It's a Sunday, which means there's no post, so there's nothing to look forward to until at least 8:00, and that probably won't happen either.

For some reason, however, this is a fit mood for scriptwriting. There are coarse rocks of ideas tumbling through my head that may eventually turn into jewels, but I don't know. My first play was begun in the fifth grade at just this time of year, but never finished. I had just seen The Best Christmas Pageant Ever and so started to write a cross between it and The Polar Express. Needless to say it was terrible. I could finish it and sell it to ABC for one of their Disney specials, that's how bad it was.

I keep being asked what I want for Christmas and I wish people would stop asking. The things I want can't be wrapped in boxes and tied with bows. That's absolutely true. I could say, oh sure, get me some CDs and DVDs, and some more books, but I could get all of those things myself. Like always, I want those things that I cannot get for myself, things that I cannot be given by well meaning relations.

There are so many things I could be prompted to write, but I shouldn't like to have to take them back later. Sometimes, it is terribly dangerous to sit at the keyboard and pour out my thoughts to a largely unknown public. This is one of those times.

Look for better news after the Christmas.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland