There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

18/03/2002 - 3:05 p.m.

Hey, I've got nothing to do today but smile.

Ah Spring Breakishness, I've done a lot of nothing today.

I awoke at nine 'o clock with a summons to the phone- the military wanted to know if I wanted to join them to help pay for college. Uh-huh, more than anything else I want to aid George Bush. So I got to pretend to be pleasent to the guy. At least he didn't do what he did to Eryn a couple years back:
"So, what are you going to go to school to do? Cause, whatever you're doing, we've got that in the military."
"I'm going to be a Musical Theatre Major."
"Oh, yeah, well, you know, music- er, we've got a band." Is it any wonder they get so many ROTCers who want to be teachers? I have nothing against the profession, but the truth really seems to be that those who can do and those who can't teach. There are so few teachers who are really spectacular at what they teach (who aren't making money through a spouse or something) because if they were, they'd be getting paid to do it for real.

Anyway, back to how I've wasted my time. I've seen Moulin Rouge two and a half (they made me turn it off) times, Camelot twice, so I feel very content in my movie watching.

Since I got up early this morning (nine, that's earlyish), I saw the infomercials for Nads and Oxy-Clean. I almost believe those products might work. Sometimes you just point and laugh, but I'm beginning to believe in those.

I'm supposed to clean my room and do the dishes now. That might happen.

I got called away for a bit, and came back to realise I wasn't making much sense. Ah well, there's more fun news. I'm being forced to take Driver's Ed. I know, you're all saying- "Didn't she just turn 18?" and "What's she moaning about?" I have no desire to drive. I know I've spoken of this before, but it slightly terrifies me the type of morons that can get liscenses. For example, Courtney Crandall has sucessfully passed her drivers exams, but she doesn't know what "stealthy" means. How can these two things go on at the same time?

People are not allowed to drive cars until they reach a certain age because of the dangers involved. No one is barred from speaking English because of the dangers involved (mostly because there aren't all that many). People who don't know their mother tounge (a relatively safe thing) are allowed to know how to drive (a relatively dangerous thing). Why does this happen???

Now, those of you living elsewhere on the globe are probably asking why I don't just take the bus, or a train or something. In the good old US of A the only trains are Amtraks, the nearest stations are in Chicago and Osceola (unless it's Oskaloosa, which is about as far), and public transportation sucks unless you're in Chicago or New York (and in comparison to say, Europe, those probably aren't that great).

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland