There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

16/08/2002 - 6:43 p.m.

Pride and Prejudice.

My mother's pissed at me because she completely missed the point. Let me explain. I would like very much to have a pea coat. A real live wool Navy pea coat with anchors on the buttons (both sets of them) and Navy tags on it. I have also desired to have a jean jacket, a dark blue, gold buttoned, so stiff it needs to be worn in, Levi's jean jacket.

My mother's answer to my wishes? J. Crew. I strike you all as a J. Crew sort of girl, don't I? I just love to spend 100 bucks a go on a shirt or pair of shoes or something, all so that I can have that casual but expensive as hell look that American Eagle can only dream about. Oh yes mother, that's me all right.

She takes this to mean I would rather shop at Goodwill and look like (in her words) a "ragpicker". Well, the first statement is true, the second is her opinion. I stand by Goodwill and the Salvation Army until the day I die because the beautiful people will keep asking me where I get my clothes. As long as the 70's are cool, why not have the real thing? As long as pea jackets are being worn, why not have a real one? My mother fails to see this, she thinks it's the look I want, but I'm not that shallow, I prefer things to be genuine. And if the second hand places are the best way to get hold of genuine, I have no problems, besides, I save some money. J. Crew. Sheesh.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland