There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

11/01/2003 - 8:32 a.m.

Hey, weird little whiners, I'm on a quest.

I fell asleep promptly at five o clock last night. So, that makes 15 lovely hours of sleep for me, yes, oh yes. Except that I'm tired as hell still...

I've discovered that the wonderful, friendly food service people won't be feeding us until Monday, so, rather than starve two days, I will be living off junk bought at the sort of convenience store place located just off the dining centre, whoo! It doesn't matter, I lost weight over the holidays, and considering that I count my hair from anyplace from five to two lbs. of my weight (I'm still deluding myself, but it's a good delusional), that was a good deal.

Oh, yes, the roommate. Jessica she is, and from Columbia, but recently from Japan. (I have no idea how that works.) She has good Japanese and good Spanish, but she's not so sure of her English. This is fun as I speak French and English. I could go all Diana Trent on her. Won't, but could.

I have about 12 books to read this semsester, along with three or four textbooks besides. I should've figured that German Lit. in Translation would probably have some amount of books in it. One of them, Siddhartha, I read in 9th grade, so, that's fun. The really fun one is that I get to read Candide and Crime and Punishment again. The scary part of all this is that I saw all three of those books over the holidays and thought, hey, I could take those back with me. They might come in handy. Of course, I didn't. Big dorkus me.

One of the other books is 1984, which I've been meaning to read since 8th grade, but haven't. I started it last night and I absolutely loved the first sentence, "It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen." That's such a fantastic idea, but then it's proceeded not really to interest me for the next 34 pages. I haven't worked everything out yet, I suppose.

Oh, and one of the books for the German class comes from Oprah's Book Club. I suppose it's to prove that Germans are still writing in German, but, please, Oprah? Well, whatever. It can't be worse than Weird and Twisted Tales by Mr. E, heh heh.

I have letters to post and breakfast to scrounge up. And then I have to make my way to the theatre and hope that people are there. They probably won't be, but that will be just as good because I can then put everything off until later.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland