There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

14/02/2002 - 7:46 p.m.

Instant Karma's gonna get you

Singing Valentines turned out a semi sucessful pain. I hope the people singing had fun, or something. I know that I sure didn't much care for it by the time it was over. I'm so glad we don't have Valentine's Day twice a year, and I know exactly why Glawe thought maybe I was crazy. Ah well, new thing on my adjenda at the moment.

I would like to say that I feel I do understand how things ought to work to be professional and to be slightly mature and what one has to do unto that end. I know throwing a tantrum and aquiring followers to believe in my tantrum is not a part of professionalism. Hey, look how much I've changed! I vividly remember myself freshman and sophomore year. Of course, I also thought the world was basically out to get me, one way or another. Guess what, it's not. It might just be out there to make things better. It's so nice to be forever and ever away from middle school.

Of course, when I'm paranoid, I'm convinced that this is all in my head and things really are as bad as I used to think they were. In the long run though, I think things are good, and all the bad things have worked out in the end. All I have to do is grow up and wait to see what can become of them. It's not instant karma, but it's not too bad.

My brother's writing a research paper entitled "Panspermia: Bacterium from another planet..." I've just helped him finish it, and I don't know what the boy's going to do when it comes time for him to write papers on his own. They're not bad, per se, but, well, he's just not very good with things that are made to be seen. If he just had to read them, it probably wouldn't be so bad (he punctuates dramatic pauses).

Anyway, panspermia is an interesting topic- it's the idea that life landed here in the form of bacteria on asteriods and such. A little bit of it's far fetched, but it's better than the way it was presented in my Biology class. "Then there's the idea that life came from outer space", and they show an overhead with a space ship and little green dudes, "which is called panspermia. Now, we're not saying this is how it happened (glancing cautiously at the kid who has never been in a school building until now because of his family's strict creationist dogma), this is what some people think happened". That's a pretty good way to mess up a bunch of high school kids all right. So, I'm just as glad my brother wrote the report, because I otherwise would have been haunted by that stupid panspermia overhead forever.

Why does everybody else suffer because they're trying to protect people from having to think? If the religious types were secure in their thinking, they wouldn't get all bent out of shape when you mentioned Darwin, they'd just say "OK, you can try and convince me, but I don't think so", not "You can't teach that, we won't know what to think!" I tell Joanna a lot, "I'll listen to you about religion, but then you'll have to listen to me, and you won't like what I have to say, so don't start." The "protect us from evolution" schpeil just suggests to me that these people don't trust themselves to retain their beliefs. But, whatever.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland