There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

06/11/2002 - 10:57 p.m.

It always happens that way.

It's been a while. I wrote a couple entries, but they disappeared en route to being posted. Into that desert called Cyberland. Anyway, there's not so much to say.

Being November, my luck has changed and so anything that could have gone straight down the tubes is now no longer doing it. This means that things look like they could go melodramatic, but never manage to do so. I find this a good thing.

I still dislike Threepenny. I'm getting tired of Ryan trying to convert me. If I have to know as much about the show and the writer and the general history of theatre as he does to like it, it's not really a very universal play, is it? That's the way he continues to present it: "Well, when you take into consideration that..." or "You know that..." and then you can try to like the show more. No. A play should stand on its own. The other information should be interesting and helpful for making a good performance, but to watch it? This is just a show that I don't like.

It fits directly into what I think makes a show work: empathy. If for one moment, anyone in the theatre just wishes that Romeo and Juliet would just hurry up and die already, the show is not fulfilling its final purpose. Same thing for this show. If you don't agree that Mac should be saved at the last moment, then the show didn't do what it must have set out to do. And it had to have set out to do that because otherwise he wouldn't sing his "get off your ass and storm the royal court" save me because I'm a pathetic man song.

A couple of the actresses are pulling things together and really rocking though. Both altos, Jenny and Lucy (can't remember their names, just character), are pretty talented singers. They're fun to listen to, they're fun to watch- Lucy is obviously up there having a good time. So that's good.

Understand, I don't entirely hate this production. I love the visuals, Joel's gags, and a couple of other things, but I absolutely hate the show. I wouldn't want to see a high school do it anywhere ever.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland