There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

16/09/2002 - 10:18 p.m.

A lustre of midday to objects below.

Tonight as I sit at my computer, I wear a crown... of paperclips, but a crown nonetheless.

I just finshed watching FOTR again. As it's the only DVD I happen to own, I don't have much choice if I want to watch a movie. So, hey, it's wonderful that I like this one. I catch new details every time I see it, and the detail for tonight is the moon.

Tolkien refers to the moon as "stainless", before any of the meteorites had struck. Of course, this was back when the doors of Moria were first opened (see Gimli's chant in FOTR). When the moon is shown in the film, look closely, that is not the moon as we are familier with it. Many of the scars have been removed. I find that magical.

Tonight the waxing moon dances uncloaked in a clear sky. I believe the moon has to be a she. No man garbs himself in evening dress of silver.

This afternoon the sky was a cold, crisp blue. Cloudless autumnal blue that stretches for miles into the depths of sky.

I never used to notice the beauty in the world around me. I knew that something was pretty, or that a day was a fine or poor day, but I never saw the fine detail that some days offer. Now I see that there are days when every blade of grass, every tree, every cloud, everything sparkles.

Tonight, I have so many pictures in my mind that cannot be spoken of fairly. I see a silhouette caught in the light of a star, tinged in purple and silver. I see trees laying out their blankets of deep shade. I see inside the kaleidoscopic glimmer of a golden raindrop. These things cannot be put into words, and I have not the skill to draw them.

Tonight I love everything dearly, and I miss someone strongly.

Fortune cookie of the day: Your intense personality can make quite an impression on people.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland