There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

14/12/2002 - 4:13 a.m.

Long Day's Journey Into Night

Well folks, for me it's still the 14th. I just got back from the single most legendary night in the history of the Icehouse. I was not a part of any of the proceedings to make it legendary, yet legendary it shall remain.

It started off as a normal sort of progressive dinner. A progressive dinner is spread out over a whole set of houses, and you go to each one and have a part of the meal. This, I can surmise from the commentary, was largely mundane. Dessert, however, followed at the Icehouse, and the party began simletaneously. The Icehouse also contained what was considered to be the height of the progressive dinner, 500 Jell-O shots.

About midnight, everyone who was going to get drunk was, and most of them left. I could've left then, but I'd been sitting with Q most the night talking about one thing or another while he sold Jell-O shots. I had one, I don't like vodka. Now that I know that, I can go on and live an alcohol free life. Well, except that I did sort of promise Q that if he ever got the chance, he could make me one of his drinks- he's a bit of an "inventor" you might say. I highly doubt the situation will ever arise. Anyway, so I could've left, but I was talking to Q and it was a pretty good conversation- struck up because of a Corpus Christi photo absolutely littered with orbs. So I stuck 'round.

More talk with Q and two other people, and watching the shots to be sure no one stole any, and suddenly, it's about one thirty. Sometime after that, the orgy began. I am serious. I am not using the term orgy at all figuratively. This is the first time anything remotely like that has happened in four years, people are saying, they're also saying that it was probably wilder than anything that had happened up until then. I went and hung out upstairs. I don't have anything against orgies and their participants, but I just am not interested.

This would be when I ran into Jeff. Jeff is probably about 30, always reads at No Shame, and is what I think I may fairly call a heavy drinker. Or at least he gets very drunk really really easily. So, I say hi to him and go to move on, and suddenly he decides to tell me that he really likes me because I'm really smart and pretty, but I probably don't like him because he's old and like as not I've got a boyfriend and, well, did I hold it against him? I certainly don't hold it against him, Jeff's a nice guy, and obviously drinking made him feel pretty damned sorry for himself, or he wouldn't have said anything in the first place. Likes as not he's not even going to remember it in the morning, and if he does, there's no reason he or I should feel bad about it.

Now it's about two thirty. The noise has died down from downstairs, so I go back to talking to Q. The shots are gone, there are maybe ten people all upstairs, and Q and I talking religion, politics, and theatre in the basement.

Now I understand Q. Since I met him, I wondered who he really was, and now I know. I find it peculiar that people will talk to me about things they never talk to other people about. Even if I never speak of it to them, they seem to know that I am the person to tell about the things they can see and do that other people can't understand.

These words don't begin to really go into the party. It was truly an experience. I can't explain it, but I will never regret telling Nick that I'd rather stay than leave at midnight.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland