There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

14/9/2003 - 2:23 a.m.

Coming back home

I just archived something in the region of a regular month's worth of entries that stretched from the end of March to August.

There are a couple of reasons for this. The first is that as soon as April 21st comes around, the entries become sparse. This is absolutely and entirely because of Nathan. The second is that since I left for school, I have been unable to regularly access the Internet.

Good old UNI contracted the MS Blaster and Welchia viriuses, and let them loose in the system. So, they had to fix the system and then check each computer on campus individually. There are something like 3000 computers on campus. It was a serious pain in the ass and I am quite quite glad I have my very own computer. I would suffer if I had to use the labs all the time. As it is, I've been using Nathan's.

Nathan and I are quite attached. Closely. Teri Ann says that this is unhealthy. While I don't think that she ought to have anything to say about "healthy" relationships, I do worry about Nathan sometimes. I'm attached to the physical reality of Nathan- if I want him to know I love him, I can take his hand. I can believe in his reality because he is so real when he's with me. He's there, and I love that. With Nathan, according to other people, it's like he doesn't quite exist without me. I don't know whether I ought to take the accounts seriously, but if I did, that's not a good thing.

One of the things about Nathan that I've gotten used to, and probably one of the reasons that I found him hard to read: it's easy to confuse his emotional intentions. He can be mildly sarcastic, and other people think he's pissed off. So, that very well could be the case, because he's not a very outgoing person. He sticks closely with people he knows and if they're not around, and he doesn't feel like being social, he clams up. So, when I'm not around, he's still being himself, he's just being his reclusive self as opposed to the self that's with me. If that makes sense. Really though, it's not up to me to explain him to the world at large.

In other, non Nathan, news, I have a Polish roomate. I cannot pronounce her name, and I have only heard it said once. She's going to be staying until the semester and then moving out. My longest staying roomate yet!

As far as classes are going, I'm learning more about English and History in my theatre classes than I ever learnt in English and History classes. It's saying something to consider that at the moment, I'm taking an English class. It's a Writing About Lit class taught by a Quaker. I didn't realise that Quakers existed anymore, I thought they died out with Harry Truman. My French class isn't as overwhelming for me as it seems to be for the rest of the class. It's interesting because I understand just about everything that's being said, and we're doing the same sort of grammar points I did my last year of high school.

Well, there we are. That's the most basic update for the moment. I'm quite tired, and I ought to go to bed so I can get up tomorrow and do homework.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland