There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

26/03/2003 - 12:47 p.m.

Lust for Life

Last night at the library I was wandering through the German book section after finding The Song of Bernadette for my Lit class. The book is a German book, but it takes place in France, in Lourdes, as it happens. This got me thinking about French, and I soon found I'd wandered into the French section. I thought to myself, hmmm, I bet they've got Cyrano de Bergerac in French. They did, so I checked it out in French, and for good measure checked it out in English too, so I don't have to use my dictionary to read it.

Isn't it peculiar then that today I should run into Mme. Caster, my freshman French teacher? That was weird, because I was certain she hated me all through that year. However, "why aren't you majoring in French?" she asked, not just an "everyone should major in French", but particuarly why aren't I? Weird.

It happens that I've been thinking taking a French class next year too. I was fighting between learning German and continuing French, but I think I'll do the French now. I love languages, love learning all the words and seeing how English words relate to words in other languages, but I'm not so good at sticking with it. I want to learn it all now, rather than learning it in pieces. So I'll stick with French and see if I can fill in the gaps there well enough so that maybe I can actually speak it. I still speak French to myself half the time- not very good French I expect, but all the same.

I'll mention it again, because it's not very apparant, but the quiz is updated, so, if you'd all please to take it I would be so very appreciative.

I've been trying to write down just how good things are for me right now, and I can't describe it. At the moment, there isn't much more I could ask for. I could, but that would be going too far, things would be too perfect.

Right now, I'm happy to see that Spring is turning the grass green again, I'm happy just breathing, just living. Maybe I don't know what's coming tomorrow, but it can't be that terribly bad, can it?

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland