There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

01/12/2002 - 8:08 p.m.

Who will love a little sparrow?

It's December. George Harrison memorial day was yesterday (or the day before depending on whether you remember the day the news came out, or the day he died). I have to go back home in 18 days. I wish I didn't have to.

I finished Emma. I've never seen any of the movies about the book, but I had her pegged to marry Knightly from the beginning. Why did I have to wait 400 pages to get all that confirmed? And for a girl who claims she's never going to get married and loves no one, pretty funny how as soon as she gets asked, she's been in love with him all her life. I wish it'd gone the way that Knightly predicts at the beginning- that she had fallen in love with someone that didn't love her, that would've been fun to read.

For mine own part, I name Emma a proud snobbish bitch. She doesn't like Jane Fairfax, whom she has no reason not to like (and she is acutely aware of this); she doesn't like Mrs. Elton because she's "common", and then she and Harriet can't even be proper friends after Harriet marries so and so. Maybe I don't understand the importance of social classes in 18 century Britain, but dear lord, who do you pick, your friends or your reputation? Though, I guess Mrs. Elton isn't the sweetest thing in the world, but she could be dealt with quite easily. I say spite the reputation if you've got good friends. Ah well, I've finished it, at last. Now I can at least say I've read it.

Late last night I was watching Saturday Night Live. It was about midnight and remember, I don't watch SNL often enough to know who is on the show at any given time. The episode had a lot of talk about President George Bush, war with Iraq, Saddam Hussein, making fun of Colin (pronounced Colon, for reasons I can't even begin to understand) Powell and all that lot. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that this was, in fact, a 1990 episode of SNL, because they were talking about the then British PM, who was not Tony Blair, and actually said it was 1990. I was shocked, it could've passed for a current episode. What does this tell us about the George Bush Jr. campaign?

I also finally saw Oliver and Company all the way through, because it was on at two. In the morning. Yeah, I can't explain it either, but it was on, so I watched it. I don't much like it, really. It's not only a bad adaptation of Oliver Twist, it's not a good Disney movie. I'm still trying to work out the year on it, because the fellow that voices Jeremy Crow in The Secret of NIMH does Fagin. He's much better used as Jeremy. I wonder just how many people left Disney with Don Bluth.

I found my RENT CD's again, which is wonderful. I've not had them since last summer when I couldn't listen to them without memories of Munchkin referring to it as "our CD", because we were the only ones at camp who'd seen it. However, I'm freed of that and only carry Roosevelt memories of it which rock.

My little brother is finally cool enough for the show. He wants copies of the CD and wishes he'd gone to see it with me when I went. Ahhh, this is wonderful to me. He may turn out OK yet. I'll have to thank Marnie for helping convert him.

Oh, and by the way, last entry was number 400. This one's 401.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland