There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

05/05/2002 - 10:47 a.m.

This is my tune for the taking

Right, so IHMSA Large Group Competition was yesterday. The women's choir got a 1, the men's choir got a 1 (go Andy), the concert choir got a 1, and the band got a 1 (which my Dad says, and I agree, was entirely on Carin's account: that's one fantastic flutist in the sea of a crappy band...), and the orchestra got a 2, and the symphonic orchestra got a 2. I'm sure Mrs. Tatge's having a conniption someplace. However, I have heard them. They are not a quality orchestra any longer. They have been playing some of the same pieces for the past four years, and they don't have anyone except Austin and Ryan and maybe a few others who can play them well. (There's a difference between knowing the notes and playing well- the Lucas girls do not fit this category.)

Ah well, I'm done wtih that, and so glad that I am. I hated being in orchestra, I hated taking lessons, I just liked playing. I like music, I like instuments, but I guess I'd rather have been taught how to fiddle rather than to play concert music. I play five finger verisons of television theme shows on the piano, I play folk songs on my Irish penny-whistles, and I suppose we could have rounded that out by teaching me folk-y dance tunes- English, American, Irish.

I'm not cut out for long symphonic pieces. I like some of it- the Barber Concerto, Canon in D, just about anything by Mozart, Vivaldi, Corelli, and some random other extremely well known stuff, but I don't want to learn to play it. I always thought that the ultimate orchestra concert- one that people would come to, and one that the orchestra would like- would be to play pieces that could be recognised from television and the movies- the DeBeer's diamond commercial, Rodeo from the beef commericals, Barber (it's in some military movie), Orpheus in the Underworld, the theme to Masterpiece Theatre, things like that. I always think it's cool to watch Moulin Rouge and go: "Spectacular, Spectacular!, yeah, I can play that.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland