There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

30/10/2002 - 10:04 p.m.

Still of a winter's night they say

Chad's launching a ghost hunt this evening in the attic of Bartlett- the other half of Lawther. Unforunately, it's only open to him and the other people putting on the "not exactly prohibited but very hush hush" haunted house. Like Lawther, no one is allowed on Bartlett's fifth floor. But setting up today he and five other guys (sceptics until that moment) all got the crap scared out of them and are going back at 11 to take EVP, video and photo. Chad knows a little bit about what he's doing, but I told him some more things to take into consideration. I would've loved to go, but the whole night-time thing was just not something I was interested in tonight.

So, today was the first two acts of Threepenny Opera. I don't much like it. It's not musical- there aren't any catchy tunes or anything much. The people are all pretty unlovable, and they're playing them that way. Visually it looks like it's going to be cool, but they haven't got all that stuff in yet. They're not doing a full orchestra- just piano, like a crappy high school production. I am uncertain whether this is typical, or just done for this show.

Shiloh's one of the ASM's, which I can tell you I was shocked to see the girl in techie blacks. Jess did the choreography, which oddly enough, I do remember. Usually with a musical it goes the other way. (I didn't find out until later he'd done it.) The weird thing though, he acts exactly the same as he did three years ago. Although it's not his acting really, it's his movement, and he can't help that.

I have no control over my facial features, for example. Absolutely none. People will comment on them, and I have no idea what I'm doing. For an excercise in Oral Comm we were trying to find somebody who could read in a monotone with no facial features. They tried me, but gave up because in spite of the fact that I truly believed I wasn't doing any, my face was doing all kinds of things.

I wish I could sing. I mean well. I can't sing well. I sing well enough that I can carry a tune, but I'm terribly lacking in the ability to make it sound good. I expect if I were better, it would just make everything else sound not as good though, so perhaps I'm better to remain in starry-eyed ignorance over not so very good singing. (This doesn't relate to Threepenny in the least, it has to do with I just wish I could sing.)

Fortune cookie of the day: You have a capacity for enjoying life.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland