There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

22/02/2003 - 9:17 p.m.

H�o ne c�the hire heortan lust.

Today was spent with Mary. I convinced her to get Life of Brian, which we watched, but I doubt she likes it all that much. Lucky thing it was only five dollars.

Actually, it has been a most productive day of purchases for me. None of them should be made because I haven't very much in the way of cash at all, but they needed to be made nonetheless.

I am finally the owner of The Two Towers soundtrack, which I fell in love with watching the movie. It picks up right where the first movie left off, continuing the themes and such, beautiful. People who like music, but are not fans of LOTR, would probably enjoy the musicality of the soundtrack. The theme for this movie- the hardanger solo- is much nicer than the horns in FOTR. I'm trying to work out the notes to it so I can play it on violin and sound cool.

Side note about the hardanger fiddle (not hardinger, as is printed in TTT book). A hardanger is a Norwegian folk instrument, a sort of hybrid between a Swedish nyckelharpa and a violin. Like a hurdy gurdy or a nyckelharpa, it has drone strings. These drones create a sound similar to that of bagpipes, where an underlying note can be played under a tune, except that this is a stringed instrument. This was an exceptional choice on Howard Shore's part, the instrument speaks of the Nordic culture Rohan has been designed in keeping with, and which is visible throughout the film. Know a little bit about the music you listen to, it's a useful level if you understand it.

I talked Mary into a trip to the Waterloo Goodwill. This was a mistake, because it's a Goodwill superstore, and so the merchandise is much more mainstream than the little one I've been to. I did, however, bond instantly with a piece that I will never give up for love nor money. I am the proud owner of the single greatest lamp in the whole world. It is a red glass oil lamp, except that it's electric. I am uncertain that it ever spent time as an oil lamp, but I think it is lovely anyway. Four dollars I paid for this ember glowing marvel.

Lastly, there was a trip to Target where I obtained Cadbury Mini Eggs (because Easter is yet three months off and one has to buy one's specialty Easter candy now) and a game of Mancala. I realised that I was a bit low on fun games to play, and decided that five dollars wasn't bad for a substansial Mancala set.

Upon checking my mail, I discovered that I have a package waiting for me. Unfortunately, I will be unable to pick up said package until the office opens again. This annoys me to no end: the office isn't open again until Monday, at least, I don't think it is. So, I have two days to anticpate, to wait, to wonder: what did I get?! If it's not a toy, I won't be very happy. You know, if I was sent something practical by some odd chance. Or if it's a package bomb. I won't like that very much either.

I am feeling particuarly Elvish today, and have felt so ever since I woke up this morning. I feel ancient, wise, and beautiful, but sad as well. It's been an odd feeling to have hanging around with Mary all day, but it's nice to revel in it now.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland