There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

16/12/2002 - 11:16 p.m.

Theatre: it's just a stage I'm going through.

So, here we have my first theatrical Diaryland entry. This is the first draft of a scene that I may or may not end up doing for No Shame. It took me about half an hour to write this version. If anybody can make heads or tails of it, please let me know. If you can't understand it at all, also let me know. Production could be in the future of this little scenelet. It would absolutely require four actors, but it could be done with up to ten.

(Outside, night.)

He: Anything you want, anything you�ve ever dreamed of having, I�ll give to you.

She: Give me the moon on silver wings.

He: The moon?

She: Yes, the moon.

He: You can�t have the moon.

She: I�ve always dreamt of having the moon, and you said you could get anything for me. Anything I dreamt.

He: But the moon?

She: You said anything.

He: I didn�t know you wanted the moon. I thought you wanted a puppy, or to hear that I loved you, or that you wanted an, I don�t know, but I didn�t think you wanted the moon.

She: Why not?

He: Because it�s the moon, you can�t own it. It belongs to the sky, it belongs to the world; you can�t have it. Why would you want the moon anyway?

She: Passing fancy.

(An office building.)

Man 1: The business isn�t expanding like it should.

Man 2: That�s because people aren�t buying.

Man 1: Yes, but why not?

Man 2: They want something we haven�t got.

Man 1: Market studies show that the product...

Man 2: It�s not about the product; it�s about something else entirely.

Man 1: What?

Man 2: I don�t know.

(A sidewalk.)

Girl: What are you waiting for?

Boy: Ice cream man.

Girl: What kind do you like?

Boy: Chocolate chip. What about you?

Girl: Strawberry. He never has chocolate chip, you know.

Boy: Sometimes he does. I bet he does today.

Girl: I bet he doesn�t.

Boy: Well, I bet he does.

Girl: And I bet he doesn�t.

Boy: You suck.

Girl: I bet he doesn�t. (Exit.)

Boy: I haven�t got a dollar anyway.

(Department store.)

Woman 1: I shouldn�t.

Woman 2: Why not?

Woman 1: I don�t have a reason in the world to wear it.

Woman 2: It�s gorgeous, just try it on.

Woman 1: No, I really shouldn�t.

Woman 2: Come on. It probably won�t fit anyway.

Woman 1: And what if it does?

Woman 2: Then you get it.

Woman 1: But I haven�t got any reason to wear it.

Woman 2: But look at it, if that fit you, you would pass it up?

Woman 1: What the hell, if it fits, I�ll make up a reason to wear it.

(A hallway.)

Girl: So, did you call him? What did he say?

Guy: Yeah, I called him.

Girl: Is he gonna do it?

Guy: Yeah, but it�ll cost us.

Girl: How much?

Guy: The price of the shit plus �a little for him�. He was one really smooth motherfucker.

Girl: So, an ass-load.

Guy: Yeah.

Girl: Isn�t there anybody else?

Guy: Do you know anybody else?

Girl: Just that guy that screwed us over the last time.

Guy: We have got to stop doing this.

Girl: Right.

Guy: Just as soon as we�re legal.

(Same as first.)

He: So, aside from the moon, and the stars, and a genuine Van Gogh, a trip to Switzerland, and your name spelled out in lightning bugs, is there anything I can give you?

She: I suppose I could think of something.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland