There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

08/10/2002 - 12:20 a.m.

The Night Thoreau Spent in Jail

So, I got a phone call from George Bush today. That would sound really pretentious and casual if it weren't for two things. First, I'm not a Republican, second, George Bush was on a recording. Somebody phoned me a recording of George Bush telling me to vote for the Republican party when I get my absentee ballot. Well, there's yet another problem there, I've never registered to vote.

I realise this is really something I should get around to as it's the one thing we're guaraunteed in this country (thank you Thoreau), but I've not done it. There's some specific bit of information on the form that I can't work out the answer to, so I've not done it yet.

Yes, my foremothers worked to get me the vote and now, fully within my rights as an American female, I'm sending all that hard work straight down the tubes. The problem is that that is the trend: our right to vote becomes our priviledge not to vote. Once we come to take advantage of something that we have, it is very easy to quit doing it. However, if Georgie turned up tomorrow and said there would be no more votes because no one was turning up to the ballot boxes, there would be public outcry. Peculiar how we work, isn't it?

I would be working on my speech, but it's long after dark, and I was getting scared doing it at ten.

Those pictures, all those sodding pictures, the only ones with anything on them were those I took in the SWT South Lobby (where Zelda hangs out) fifteen minutes before I took the film in for developing. I had about nine shots left and I thought, eh, whatever. I took the pictures, and sure enough, orbs. I could really kick myself sometimes.

I'm going to bed so that I don't end up taking a nap after Humanities tomorrow.

Oh yeah, more fun things I did today, paraphrased Everyman for Derek. He was going on about how the language was a pain in the ass to read. I instructed him to hand over the script, and began to tell the story in coloquiall (I bet that's spelled wrong) English. Line by line. He wasn't going to let me until he realised I was making sense and that maybe I had actually read it before (maybe I'd actually read it?). I think Cliff's Notes is going about it all wrong, they just need to make parodies, or updated versions or something, because they could make money if they did it that way. Or, I could do it. Nah.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland