There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

07/02/2002 - 7:31 p.m.

Adlock adcock & quid pro quo, so little time, so much to know!

I love brown sugar. Not on things, but all by itself. I don't put it on cereal, but if the cure for hiccoughs is eating sugar, I go for brown. I get hiccoughs a lot. Well, just random single hiccoughs that people mistake for sneezes.

Thespians are doing singing Valentines at school this year. It's bound to be a good annoying fundraiser, so yes. I'm supposed to be looking up song lyrics and writing a proposal. I'll start on it in a little bit. (Kind of like I need to be doing my French and reading the Constitution.)

Rumors wasn't a go because of HAM rehearsal and a lack of Andy. Charlie Brown rehearsal subsequently ran short on that account too. However, I didn't manage to get home until almost seven.

At the moment I'm dividing my time between this and British Antiques Roadshow. I watch the American one as well, it's not much that I care about the value of the stuff, more the history and the interesting things. I could care less about somebody's nameless vase or their mejallica, but I do like guns and paintings and toys and things.

Maria told me today it was unproper to say "She was not ungraceful", because you just shouldn't put un and not in the same sentence. My question was: who would do that in the first place? I can't think of a single reason to do so, or a single quote that would do so. Yet this is what they teach them at Central. Good for them. I'm glad that when they make it in corporate America they'll know that they shouldn't use un and not in the same sentence.

Hmmm, we've got the regular high schools setting us up to ask whether they want fries with that, or, for those of us who are smart, to work in accounting or marketing the rest of our lives, and then we've got Central setting them up to be business managers and executives. What about those of us who don't want to die chained to a desk? I find it absolutely hilarious when a teacher says, "someday, when you go to give a presentation at your office, you'll need this skill". Hello, I mean, they're teachers, they've already chosen an alternative form of career, do they not consider that any of us might?

I can't think, right off, of any of my friends who want to be office workers. I know a good few who want to be psychologists, or actors, or journalists, or photographers, or even a few teachers, but I can't think of anybody who gets up and says "Yes! Yes, I want to figure interest rates until I die!"

Are they all assuming we'll lower our epectations after we get into college?

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland