There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

22/01/2003 - 11:30 p.m.

Simple joys have a simple voice.

I'm feeling like a petulant two year old at the moment, for which there is no reason. It was a sort of a long morning, yes, but it's nothing to do with that. That was only because I had no idea what the hell was going on for most of it, which I hate. I don't have to be in charge of anything, I just have to know what's going on. That way, I can answer any question posed me. When I know the answers, life is as it should be.

I saw a version of "No Time At All" from Pippin, I expect it will give me nightmares. It was bad. It was scary, completely misinterperated by the people who did it. The writer got all upset that Fosse took liberties, making things raunchier than he intended, this show went further.

I hate that kind of stuff. People don't try to fiddle with choral music, they don't say "Oh, we'll just cut out those two lines," or, "It doesn't matter if we do the repeat or not, how about not?" But they do it to plays, "It's too long, let's cut it," and, "No, I don't like that interpretation, he was really saying this, do it like this." There is music interpretation, but it doesn't get fiddled with in the same way that plays do.

For example, when Stanislavski's acting technique first came out, did Chekov like it, or did he prefer his shows done in the old style? A playwright knows how actors act, he writes for that, Stanislavski's method, with all of it's truthful emoting, could have been just exactly what Chekov didn't want. But, do we know?

I spent three hours at Dick's with Mike (he wasn't Q today), Ben, Kelly, Ryan (not annoying Ryan), and Jess. That really allowed me to put the whole Jess thing into perspective and behind me, which I've needed to do. Now I just need to do that with Shiloh and I'll be fine.

And now I smell of pipe smoke, which I don't mind. How peculiar that cigarette smoke bothers me to no end, but I can endure pipe smoke without a problem. I have got a big of a thing about pipes though, due mostly to Tolkien. In LOTR, they were going to have Gandalf give up smoking and chew toffees or some damn thing. I'm so glad they kept the pipes. It seems comfortable somehow.

However, I'm in a bit of a grumpy mood. I expect, though not willing to admit, that it's due to sleep. I went to bed about one last night, and though I got up at nine, I was woken up about a dozen times throughout the night. I'm not sure why I've not slept very well recently.

Ohhhh, and I know that unless you're Ren or Stimpy, you haven't bothered to take the quiz. Take it. Take it so I can change it and replace it with something interesting, please.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland