There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

05/09/2002 - 3:23 p.m.

Scattered rays condensed.

I need a nap. Unfortunately, I've just had one. Looking after the script library today I finished Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead and promptly fell asleep and had unnerving dreams of being on a sailing ship. Anyone who has read the play knows why that might be an unnerving dream to follow up the reading with. (I certainly am not going to attempt to explain Tom Stoppard whilst half awake.)

It has suddenly occured to me how miserable emptying the garbage cans is going to become in about a month or two.

I have all kinds of e-mail today (duplicates of the same message), but Hotmail is being a slow ho, and I can't get to it.

This morning after Humanities I did manage to pick up the course packet. I finally have everything I could possibly need, almost. That packet is positively enormous, no wonder Leonard asked us to spring for the 1 inch three ring binders. Half of it's taken up by that thing.

Also, I did finish the reading, about ten pages of drivel. "The Creative Process" and such, I can't think of creativity as a process, it's just somthing that happens. The second reading was something to the effect that "everyone can be taught to draw", which I already knew. Though the metaphor was interesting- we don't teach reading and art the same, and basically if we taught everyone to read the same way art is taught, one or two in hundreds might eventually work out how to read.

I find this interesting because I never had to be taught to read. I taught myself to read, for the most part. As a child, I read Byron and Sidney and Tolkien with very little help. I went about art the same way, no one showed me how to do things, I just saw things and drew them. Granted, my drawings do leave much to be desired, but the point is, I picked it up all on my own. So their presentation was a little on the other side of the universe from me, which I enjoyed, but couldn't really grasp. Sometimes, I'd like to try to be average.

Fortune cookie of the day: The superior man is modest in his speech, but he exceeds in his actions (in bed).

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland