There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

26/08/2002 - 1:02 p.m.

In a hole in the ground there lived a Hobbit.

My Math professor is a Hobbit. A very very tall hobbit, probably decended from Bandobras (he could ride a horse, you know), but a hobbit just the same. He's a not particuarly tall very merry fellow with curly (though thinning) hair. Everything he says he says with a slight giggle or a smile and he has that same endearing tone that Ian Holm has as Bilbo. My first impression was that perhaps he was old Drogo, but his height and sense of humour drive that idea off. Bandobras Took teaches me math, can you believe it?

Actually, everybody I've seen thus far today has some sort of oddity. The Humanities guy makes some odd clicking that sounds like a throat cancer patient breathing, and the guy filling in for Oral Comm, well, he has the most annoying speaking habit. He's from South Dakota, and it sounds like there's an engine keeping his voice running.

"So now we're all here to talk about communication. Ehhh. It's a really swell thing to learn about because it can be very useful when you want to communicate. Ehhh. We can learn all kinds of things about a person from the way they communicate. Ehhh. So, the more you communicate and practice these things ehhh the better you'll get. Ehhh."

Thank goodness he's just the substitute. If it weren't every time he stops though, it wouldn't have been so annoying.

I had two hours this morning, and so I wandered into the library. They've got a children's section (which includes LOTR, Tolkien insisted that that was not a children's book, oh well) and so I wandered in and picked up Outside Over There which is a rather obscure kids book in spite of the Caldecott Honour. It was always one of my favourites when I was a kid, but I hadn't been able to find a copy of it in forever.

Then I picked up These Happy Golden Years by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I knew when I did it that I would regret it. Oh yes. Any girl who has read that book knows just exactly what I'm talking about, so I'll leave it at that. I never liked that book or the next one in the series when I was ten, now they're the only ones I read (much to my detriment).

Well, there we go. I just Psychology after this. Who knows, there may be an additional entry to this one.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland