There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

07/09/2002 - 5:31 p.m.

Broken hearted jubilee Part II

Today was... an adventure. (For anyone who hasn't read the first part, go here.) Since I realised that I have no clean or paricuarly warm clothes and no paint clothes whatsoever, I decided I had to find a Goodwill or die trying. Yeah, there's no one up there or out there watching out to make sure I don't do stupid things.

This time, I consulted the phone books first. Yes, the Goodwill was on University, but it was about nine blocks further than I had thought. So, I rode my bike to the College Square mall and found the land with no sidewalks again. I decided to abandon my bike and walk. Nine blocks. In the hot sun. In jeans and a black shirt. It took 45 minutes.

I spent a good long time in the air conditioning at the Goodwill, let me tell you. Walking back didn't take as long. Arriving back at the mall, I suddenly remembered that since I was at the mall, I may as well hunt up a pair of black shoes to wear for running shows. I went into Kohls hoping for a pair of black Keds or All Stars or something.

Nothing. So, I decided to find something that I could wear to look semi-decent as well, make spending the money worth while. I finally found some on sale for $20. This came as rather a shock to me considering at Goodwill I had just spent $15 on three pairs of pants, a long sleeved shirt, and a wool sweater. The girl at the counter pulls out a bag that even I can see is far too small for the box and sticks it in.

"Ohhh, sorry, it's a little bit small, isn't it?"

"Er, yeah."

I'm assuming she's going to get a bigger bag. Ah no, she hands it to me and says, "well, here, if you hold it like that, I think it'll be OK." She goes on to take care of the next customer. I glance at the bag, I consider my backpack full of clothes and wonder how the hell this thing is coming home with me. I can't even hold it properly.

So, I begin to ride back, the ridiculously small bag clutched between my aching fingers. I decide that there's no way I'm even going to try the real roads, and so I find a bike path. I know it has to go back to UNI sometime because I'd heard it did. So, I ride along and every so often the trail forks off to go up to roads, but I'm not paying much attention. Soon, I discover that there are no more of these forks, and the trail has become rather deserted and more woody. It winds down by the river and I think "hmmm, I didn't know UNI was this close to the river."

Soon, I pass the sign that points out the city limits. I swerve to a stop and go back the way I came. It has been about an hour and a half since I left the mall and forty minutes since I realised I was kind of off the beaten path.

At length, I found a park with a trail map. Bless those Boy Scouts. I discovered that had I not taken one turning, I would've ended up back at UNI ages ago, and I was extraordinarily stupid for thinking I was completely lost.

I'm absolutely disgusting, but at least I have lots of things to show for my trouble.

Next time, I am definately taking the bus!

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland