There and Back Again

First Age
Third Age
Correspondence

Hobbits love to get notes.

Proper dwarves offer their services before they leave.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whatever you do, I'm certain it will be lovely.

Site Meter

The Grey Havens - 04/03/2004

Long Time Gone - 22/02/2004

Only for Now - 04/02/2004

The Neverland - 19/01/2004

There's no times at all, just the New York Times - 15/01/2004

Links and Rings
No Shame Pieces
Untitled Story
Other Writings

21/01/2003 - 9:28 a.m.

Lest your heart's blood run cold.

In consequence of yesterday's self inflicted fear, I slept most unwell. Diaryland croney Moony, who warned me of the dangers too late, was calling up my room to tell me that she had sent me an e-mail containing a picture of my rooom. Under the doorknob, actually imbedded in the door, was the face of a baby. I told the two other people in my room (neither of whom I knew) what Moony was on the phone telling me, and walked to the door to investigate. As I touched the door under the knob, the room shook, a noise between a scream and a laugh filled the room, and papers were flying everywhere. One of the other girls screamed that the Ouija board on my bed (I don't actually have one here, for all the times I have considered bringing it) had fallen off onto the floor. I got back on the phone and started yelling if she was still there or not.

I woke up with the distinct feeling of being watched. I sleep in a loft, and I knew as certain as certain that something was down on the floor watching me. Jessica was asleep, I could hear that, so it wasn't her, and the door was locked, I knew that too. I did the only sensible thing I could do- pulled the covers over my head and lay there scared to death until whatever it was went away.

It is my sincere hope that the second incident is simply irrationality brought on by fear of the first. But last night was also the first night in a long time I didn't leave my shoes turned. That's a silly superstition, I realise, but ever since I was a little kid, I have put my shoes under the bed with one toe turned in facing under the bed, and the other toe turned out facing the room. I heard at a storytelling a long time ago that if you did that, no nightmares or ghosts would bother you. Last night, I took my shoes off after I was already in my loft and just tossed them down onto the floor. It wasn't until this morning when I got down and noticed it that I realised I hadn't done it last night.

I don't know if it really makes any difference, but I absolutely don't intend to forget again.

In other news, ACTF starts today. Except that nothing seems to be going on. I can't decide if I'm too early, or too late, or what, so I'm going to hang around here for a while. Most cleverest of Megans signed me up to usher for all of the student written shows: she's good, that way I absolutely get to see them.

Mockingbird cast list goes up today. I don't know what I'm hoping for about that.

From the Shire, down the Anduin, to Mordor

The First Age The Third Age
The Red Book Diaryland